Simple Still Life, day 2

While hubby was out mowing the lawn, I cut a lovely lilac from the bush by the front porch. They smell so lovely. Then it stormed for the rest of the day. Perfect time to stay inside and paint.
While hubby was out mowing the lawn, I cut a lovely lilac from the bush by the front porch. They smell so lovely. Then it stormed for the rest of the day. Perfect time to stay inside and paint.

My paintings, to my chagrin, take on different modes and styles. Right now, they are traditional still life subjects, but you wait. Next thing, it will be an abstract piece, or more of an expressionist piece of a mythological creature. One of my favorite artists of all time is Willem de Kooning. I also love Vincent Van Gogh and Franz Kline and George Baselitz, Elizabeth Murray, Jennifer Bartlett and the list goes on.

At the moment, I’m letting myself just paint and enjoy it, making it look spontaneous, yet still and holding onto realism. It’s a good exercise for me and exercise is good! It actually takes work to do this type of painting with a still mind and few brushstrokes, keeping myself from overworking the piece into a stiff, muddy mess. The idea behind this exercise is to sweep out some of the rust and really make some sweet, shiny painting gems!

Oh, and – being a mama painter, I have to paint safe. No more smelly solvents and toxic paints. Keep paint off skin, wash up well, and stay safe, painter parents!

 

Simple Still Life, day 2

Leave a Reply

