A Study of STUDY IN GRAY AND GREEN

Today’s piece is from a photograph on Jnana’s Red Barn, a WordPress blog that I follow. This blog is good reading and the photos are really nice. I would call them cinematic, and so, two thumbs up!

"The shot was taken from a pedestrian bridge as I looked down toward the river."
“The shot was taken from a pedestrian bridge as I looked down toward the river.” —Jnana Hodson on his photograph

Over the course of doing a painting a day (or close to it) I knew I’d be showing different approaches and subject matter. I create paintings, I do illustrations. I’ll paint realistically, still life, semi-abstract, images from imagination, self portrait, cat portrait… I don’t know if it’s necessarily a great thing or not. It just is what it is and I try to make it all cohesive somehow. My groove lately has been painting over printed media. I love how the ground of a photograph and typography influences the paintwork that lands on it.

And as for media, I started painting-a-day in oils, but they are messy and the fumes aren’t healthy, either. I graduated from them to egg tempera, which I like a lot, and acrylic with a little pencil mixed in. I also gravitate towards mix media. For me, these media bring movement and ‘verve’ (Thank you, Painting Professor Jack Hughes) to my paintings and drawings.

A Study of STUDY IN GRAY AND GREEN

Leave a Reply

